Specific

This morning I watched Dr. Brian Little’s Ted talk “Who are you, really? The puzzle of personality” and I do recommend you give it a watch (video posted below).

I know that I’m personally trying to work out and understand the specifics of who I am and what makes me, me. I also know I’m not the only one out there (otherwise there wouldn’t be so many amazing Ted talks to listen to!). 

So far I know I’m an introvert, well I’ve always known that, and more recently I’ve discovered I’m an INTJ personality type. Beyond this, it’s labels I attribute myself, wrongly or rightly. Personality is such an interesting thing to look into and I am enjoying researching into what it all means for myself, and those around me who are totally different to myself.

One major mistake so many of us make about each other is that another fits specifically in a box we put them in, or a series of labels we define and forget that actually we can only truly build our own box for ourselves and name the labels we believe are attached to us. Maybe there isn’t really anything specific about anyone, but we’re all just flowing forms of energy, changing and adapting as we see fit and with it our ‘specifics’.

Leave a Reply

